RSS Feed

Vegan Spelt Brownie

When I was ill and feeling sorry for myself I experimented with different type of chocolaty food. I made shakes, muffins and brownies.

20160215_152744

chocolate spelt muffins

I don’t remember what exactly I put into muffins but I wasn’t impressed with the result.

So I moved onto brownies and I loved them. I made a batch with chopped pecans and a batch with raspberries. They were both fantastic.

20160222_112636

vegan spelt brownie

Here’s the recipe:

Vegan Spelt Brownies:

dry ingredients:

1 cup spelt wholemeal flour

1/3 cup cocoa

1 tsp arrowroot starch

1 tsp baking powder

wet ingredients:

1 tsp chia seeds

4 tsp water

1/2 cup almond milk

1/4 cup chopped vegan chocolate (if you can’t find it in a shop you can get it online)

2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup date or maple syrup

nuts, chocolate chips or raspberries to add

  1. Start by preheating the oven to 180C. Mix chia seeds with water and leave for 15 minutes to form a gel.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Put almond milk, chocolate and coconut oil in a pot and slowly heat up to melt it, stirring constantly.
  4. Add date syrup and chia seeds into melted chocolate. Pour into the dry ingredients. Mix gently, pour onto the brownie form oiled and lined up with parching paper. Bake for 20 minutes.

20160222_112648.jpg

Another bad thing happening on my birthday was finding out one of my idols, favourite writer and director had died.

I am talking about Andrzej Zulawski. Actually I mentioned his film, ‘Possession’, in my post few weeks ago.

I don’t know who I admired more – Zulawski the writer or Zulawski the director. As a writer he had a completely unique style of writing, different melody and structure of the sentences. I could just dive into his written world, and I always started talking the way he wrote after reading his book.

He came from a family of writers, and very fine ones too. In his work, both literature and film, he was always very honest, gutsy, bold, brave, gutty in a sense of a vigorous challenging quality. His films had a cult following, but he could never be wildly popular or appreciated as he was shaking you to the core, moving and touching something in you, bringing up subjects you didn’t want to think about, getting to your animal side by being very intellectual.

My favourite film will always be ‘Possession’ from 1981.

As I mentioned before, I don’t know why I was allowed to watch it,but I did, and it totally transformed me. The film is twisted and raw. In one of his books he wrote about the whole process of making the film, and how much of his own divorce and his first wife’s betrayal got into it.

Zulawski was an independent and unique artist. I used to see him at some of the film festivals I went to. I never really wanted to approach him him, as I am well aware that you should never meet your idols. But one day someone said to me; ‘Just talk to him, you could never have that opportunity again’. So I did. And maybe in some cases it’s better to stay away from your idols,but in Zulawski’s case, it will always be my greatest memory. I knew he would be in real life exactly like I imagined and more. He was courteous, intelligent and gracious. Somehow he redirected the conversation from his work to me, getting me to talk about myself. He knew my hometown (he wrote about it in one of his books), so we talked about my sleepy town, and the fact I studied philosophy like him, and many silly, not important things. I suppose writers have got that quality of getting you to talk and being in charge of any conversation. And being interested in people.

He will always be to me one of the Gods like David Bowie. Immortal in their art and our memories of them.

 

 

 

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

2 responses »

  1. Aw, we hope you are felling better soon. Thanks for all of your kitchen experiments; these brownies look delicious… and gooey brownies have a habit of making everything better! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

