RSS Feed

Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli with Sage Butter

spinach and ricotta ravioli

Hello, I am back. On the blog and back from Poland, where I was celebrating my sister’s birthday and stuffing my face with the most amazing bread.

Although it was my sister’s birthday, I came back with gifts. One of them was a pasta machine which I am in love with. What can I say, it’s shiny and  I am close to ‘putting it on the mantle at home with the Virgin Mary, a glass of wine, and a dollar bill next to it’.

So obviously I had to make ravioli. I haven’t upgraded yet to the fancy, fun cutting thingy, so I cut the dough using the knife. The only problem was, it took ages to fiddle with the little bastards, so I had to find the solution – bigger, better ravioli. You make them in seconds and then eat five of them and you are done. What can I say, I am a busy woman, I don’t have time to fiddle with little things.

Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli with Sage and Butter:

For the dough:

2 cups 00 graded flout with semolina

1 egg

1 tbsp olive oil

pinch of salt

1/3 cup of water

For the stuffing:

200g spinach

150g ricotta

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

pinch of salt and pepper

Plus olive oil, butter and fresh sage

  1. Start by making the dough. Put flour in a big bowl, make a well in the middle, crack one egg,olive oil and splash of water and start combining it together. The amount of water you need to add depends on humidity on that day, sometimes you need less, sometimes more. The dough should be smooth, not to wet and not to dry. Start kneading until it becomes smooth and silky. Wrap it in a cling foil and leave in a fridge for 30 min.
  2. Make the filling. Wilt the spinach, add ricotta and nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste and juice of half a lemon. Mix well. Leave it to cool.
  3. Take the dough out of the fridge. Cut into 3 pieces. Take one and make sure the others are covered with dump cloth so the dough won’t get dry. Flatten your dough, set the machine on 8, dust the surface with flour and start rolling the dough through the machine. Do it again changing the setting on the machine. Once you hit 2, and roll the dough through, it will be perfect for ravioli. You will need to dust the dough every time you roll it out.
  4. Start boiling salted water in a big pan. Cut squares out of your dough. Put the stuffing in the middle, cover with another square, pinch ends together (if you are worried they won’t stick together, dump the edge with a bit of water before pinching). Cook in a boiling water for 2-3 minutes (they will come to the surface when they are done).
  5. Once the ravioli are cooked, take them out, rinse with cold water. Make another batch. Once you are done, heat olive oil and a knob of butter in a frying pan. Add julienned sage and ravioli. Fry in batches gently, just to warm them up, not to make them too crispy.
  6. Serve with toasted pine nuts and veggie parmesan.

spinach and ricotta ravioli

There is a new TV series I am itching to tell you about.

I started watching it before I went away and I was enchanted. It had me at ‘hello’ which was the opening credits. Maybe because it had some Michelangelo visual references and a new song by David Bowie. And it was before ‘Black Star’ was released.

I had to admit, I was always a big fan of Bowie. When I was a teenager I had a little David Bowie Shrine in my room. Ask my sister. Once she took a very tasteful picture of me in front of it, which visually slightly resembled Goya’s painting. I would share it with you, but all my pictures are in the basement of my friend’s parent’s house (long story, I moved around a lot).

So when I heard this haunting and atmospheric song, I was hooked.

The story starts with the diamond heist. But it’s not about the heist. It gets more complex, involving stories of different people, countries, their past, Balkan war, all of it somehow connected and nothing is what it seems at first. What I also love about it, is a really good acting and the fact that the characters speak in their language. I just simply despise English speaking films in which people speak in English even if they are Italian, only with the Italian accent. It’s ridiculous and makes the protagonists unbelievable. In ‘Last Panthers’ Serbs and French speak their mother tongue which makes the story flow in a believable, authentic way. As I said, I’m hooked, can’t wait for more.

spinach and ricotta ravioli

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

6 responses »

  1. The story why these are so big, was great. Who really has time to fill them if they are tiny, nobody I say.

    Reply
  2. Love the look of these ravioli, a very interesting recipe! 🙂

    Reply
  3. A classic combination; puts me in mind of happy days on the shores of Lake Como.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

