RSS Feed

Pumpkin Spice Latte

Have I mentioned that I LOVE autumn? Probably like hundreds of times, but I have to say it over and over again because it’s true. And it always surprises me when early autumn arrives, how excited it makes me feel.

quote

Nowadays not only colder evenings and crispiness of the air reminds you it’s that time of the year, but also Starbucks by starting to sell their pumpkin lattes.

I love the smell of it, but I can’t stand the amount of sugar which is in it. And autumn is all about comfort, so you need the alternative of your favourite drink, warm blanket and a few DVDs of not so ambitious but oh so comforting films.

To start with you need to make your own pumpkin spiced latte.

I use an Italian coffee maker which looks like this:

ECM

Pumpkin Spice Latte:

pumpkin spice latte

2 tbsp freshly ground coffee

1 cup water

mixture of 1/2  tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/3 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp nutmeg 1/2 tsp allspice

1 1/2 cup almond milk

1 tsp date or maple syrup

  1. Start by making coffee. Put water at the bottom of your coffee maker, then add coffee mixed with spices in the centre part and screw down the top. Let it brew on the stove.
  2. In the meantime heat the almond (or any milk of your choice) in the pot. When the coffee is done and milk hot, Put your milk with date or maple syrup in the blender and whiz until foamy.
  3. Pour your milk into a tall glass, add coffee and voila!

pumpkin spice latte

Now you just need a really soft and warm blanket and DVDs. My comfort films mostly come from the 80s. I didn’t have a happy childhood, it was like a cross between ‘Mommy Dearest’, ‘A little Princess’ (without the father bit and the happy ending, just the middle bit about living in the attic in poverty), and ‘Alice in Wonderland’ – as I was living in my own imaginary world. But I really found comfort in watching films. Even not so good ones (not to point fingers but hello ‘Undaunted Wutang’, you were lost on me but I would never regret meeting you).

Here’s what I like to watch on a crispy autumn day:

  1. ‘Romancing the Stone’. Ah the adventure films of the 80s, how I adore you… There is so much humour and gentle fun poking at some stereotypes in this film.
  2. ‘Legal Eagles’ because I can watch Debra Winger in anything, and I feel nostalgic about this film. I love the fact that Tina Fey as an attorney in ‘Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt’ admits she prepared for the trial by watching ‘Legal Eagles’.
  3. Escape from New York’. Even though it was made in the 80s it still holds the ground and doesn’t look too outdated. Maybe because of the atmosphere and not trying too hard…
  4. All ‘Back To The Future’ films. I still remember going to the cinema to watch them 3 times in a row. Not only because they were so good but also because the life of a school kid looked so much different in America than in my grey communistic reality.
  5. First (or fourth if you like) ‘Star Wars’. It wasn’t released straight away in Poland but a few years after the official premier. Because censorship had to decide if it wasn’t too ideologically corrupted by the rotten West. I was about 9 when I first watched it and my life changed dramatically. I became a ‘Star Wars’ fan. Only the first 3 though. Can’t wait for the new one. Hopefully it will be more like the first – about telling the story and not the special effects.

I could go on, but there is not enough cosy evenings to watch all them. So, till next time!

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

Leave a Reply

