RSS Feed

Quinoa chilli

quinoa chilli

The time has come to talk about two of my favourite things. What could be better to end the summer with than having quinoa chilli with one of the best Jim Jarmush’ films – ‘Dead Man’.

Jim Jarmush’ films feel more European than American. There is a slower pace in his films, if there is a violence, it’s not glorified, it’s just ugly. Maybe that’s why his films always had a cult following in Europe, and as far as I remember, in Poland, there were queues forming in front of the cinema when a film of his was released.

‘Dead Man’ is beautifully shot (in black and white) by Robby Muller.

4691_5

The main character – William Blake- is played by Johny Depp. There were the days when Johny Depp was acting well and choosing his films wiser. There were also the days when I watched his films without cringing and feeling embarrassed for him.

Music score was done entirely by Neil Young. It felt airy and haunting, perfectly suited for the film.

If only for the reasons I just mentioned it is worth to watch the film.

But not only that – it is funny film with the sad story line. ‘Dead Man’ is quite often called neo-western, or ‘western on acid’, it doesn’t idolize the West and the making of America. It is filled with brutality, uneducated people with bad temper and bad hygiene, and violence. But despite of it all, it’s a poetic, beautiful film about a journey. The journey of a dead man….

And on that uplifting note, let’s talk about chilli with quinoa.

quinoa chilli

Quinoa Chilli:

1 cup quinoa

1 1/2 cup water

pinch of sea salt

For the chilli:

2-3 tbsp olive oil

1 red onion, diced

1 chilli, chopped

2 peppers, chopped

2 cans chopped tomatoes

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbsp coriander

2/3 cup red lentils

1 cup soaked overnight and cooked kidney beans (or rinsed tinned ones)

1 tbsp smoked paprika

pinch cayenne pepper

salt

chopped fresh coriander

1 lime

1 avocado

  1. Start by cooking quinoa. Rinse it and place in a pot with water and salt. Once it start to boil, turn the heat down, cover and let it simmer until water absorbs completely.
  2. Heat oil in a heavy pan. Add chopped onion and let it soften. Add dried coriander and cumin and fry for 1-2 minutes. Add chopped pepper. Cover and cook for 4-7 minutes.
  3. Add tomatoes and lentils and let it cook for about 30-40 min until lentils are soft and almost falling apart. Add water if needed.
  4. When the lentils are cooked add beans and salt, cayenne pepper and paprika. Mix well. add chopped coriander and juice of the half a lime.
  5. Chop avocado and mix with juice from the other half of the lime.
  6. Serve chilli with quinoa and avocado on top. Enjoy.

quinoa chilli

 

 

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

Leave a Reply

