RSS Feed

Plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

Recently I’ve  watched ‘While We’re Young’. And it left me thinking, what the what?

gff2015a

There were few funny moments, but the whole film was making me wonder – did Noah Baumbach really made up his mind what he wanted to say or did he change it half way through?

The film is about 40 year old documentary maker and his wife – a producer, who strike an unlikely friendship with 20-something hipsters. Hipsters seem to be fascinating at first, but after a while show their true colours. They are not so genuine, a bit more opportunistic than it seemed at first and less idealistic then their older friends after all.

There is one thing I can sympathize with – how not many people understand and respect intellectual property. It doesn’t apply just to artists, simple thing like any idea you share with someone, or come up with, your own expression, and few days later everyone around you is using it or suddenly has the same idea. If you are an individualist, there is nothing more annoying. If you an artist, it can make or brake your career.

What I can’t understand is how 40 something people, who suppose to be mature and have some life experience, can’t see through hipster’s act. And another thing, only people who can’t remember hippies can think it’s new and original to keep a chicken in an apartment, make everything from scratch (but only if it suits me) and cycle everywhere (in New York!).

Second thing – I don’t understand Baumbach reoccurring theme – adults not really wanting to grow up and their fascination with younger people. I don’t get it, especially the fact that the younger friends seem to invigorate the older ones. What a lot of bollocks. To me it’s not the age but personality – I have friends who are 20 years older than me and they inspire me because they are interesting, enthusiastic people who read, watch films and are interested in art. I have 20 year old friends who are the same, but I also know people in their 20s, 30s and 40s whose favourite activity is to get drunk, proudly admit they have never read a book and can’t see the difference between Klimt and Kandinsky. Actually, they don’t know who the latter are. So, the whole idea of being ‘invigorated’ by younger people is incomprehensible to me. I like some people, some people inspire me, doesn’t matter what’s their age.

Great bunch of actors though, love the scene when Naomi Watts is learning how to dance hip hop. I’d rather watch Woody Allen, his not so good films are still better.

When you come back from the cinema after watching a film that confused you, you have to make yourself something comforting, sweet but still vegan.

Plum and Apple Crumble with Vanilla Vegan Ice Cream:

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

Serves 2

For the crumble:

8 plums

1 apple

juice from 1 orange

1/3 cup xylitol (or honey)

1/3 cup pecans

1/3 cup hazelnuts

1 cup oats

1/2 cup ground almonds

1/3 cup xylitol

2 tbsp cinnamon

3-4 tablespoons coconut oil

For the ice cream:

2 bananas

4 tbsp almond milk

1 vanilla pod

4 tbsp agave syrup

1. Start with peeling and chopping bananas and leaving them in the freezer for 3 hrs. Preheat the oven to 170C.

2. Cut plums in half, take the pits out. Cut the apple in half, take the core out, dice. Put plums and apple into a pot, add orange juice and xylitol or honey, cook until soft.

3. In the meantime put nuts, ground almonds, oats, cinnamon, xylitol and coconut oil into a food processor. Blitz until becomes crumbly but chunky.

4. Grease the ovenproof dish with coconut oil, put fruit into it. Spread nuts and oats crumble on top of the fruit, put into the oven until golden and bubbly.

5. When the crumble is ready, make the ice cream. Put bananas into the food processor with vanilla seeds, almond milk and agave syrup, blitz until smooth. Serve with the crumble.

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

plum and apple crumble with vegan ice cream

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

Leave a Reply

