RSS Feed

Breakfast Club Vegan Porridge

the_breakfast_club_3

“And these children that you spit on as they try to change their worlds; are immune to your consultations, they are quite aware of what they are going through.”

For the 30th anniversary of the Breakfast Club release, the film is going to return to US cinemas.

Why were films made by John Hughes, especially this one, so loved? Because he treated teenagers with respect without patronizing them and patting them on their shoulder. When you are young you feel like adults don’t have a clue, and to be honest, they don’t. Because once they grow up they forget what was so important to them 20 years ago, what made their integrity vanished.

The film about a group of students in detention starts like any teen film. But appearances can be deceiving. It’s not just another teenage film, and the students aren’t who they seem to be at first. At the end of the film one of the characters, John, raises his fist in triumph and that’s not the only iconic scene copied and credited in many other films.

Breakfast Club is witty and nostalgic but also sad and funny at the same time. There’s plenty of great lines: original ‘eat my shorts’ used so many times by Bart Simpson, that no one even remembers now where it came from. Also:  ‘What if your home… what if your family… what if your *dope* was on fire?’ ‘Impossible, sir. It’s in Johnson’s underwear.’

‘Does Barry Manilow know that you raid his wardrobe?’

It’s also the kind of film which makes you think of the parenting. If you make a decision to have a child you should really be aware of the consequences. And there’s many. First of all it was your decision to bring a child to this world. Not the child’s decision to pop out. So you are responsible for them till the end of your life. It never ends. You should always be there for them, even if it’s inconvenient, put them first and support them if it helps them. Also financially if it’s needed, even when they are adults. Also let them be adults and set them free. Don’t suffocate them with so called love. You need them so you want them near you. Not because you are a good parent. And accept this – however good you are trying to be as a parent, you are going to traumatize them some way or another and make many mistakes they will hold in their heart forever. Trust me. I was a daughter and I am a mother. The best thing is to just be their mom or dad, not buddy and a shoulder to cry on. Not a friend to party with. And however bad the world seems, you never commit suicide, because that’s screws them up forever, even if they already hate you.

So on that optimistic and quite upbeat note, what’s for breakfast?

 

vegan porridge

vegan porridge

vegan porridge

vegan porridge

Vegan Porridge :

1 cup oats (you can use gluten free if you prefer)

5-8 spoons of water

1 cup of oat milk (almond or any plant base is fine)

1 tbsp honey (optional)

any fruit you like

2 tbsp chia seeds

2 tbsp hemp seeds

1. Soak oats in water overnight (or for 20 min). Add milk and simmer in a pot on a low heat. Add honey if you like it sweet. Transfer to a bowl and top up with seeds and fruit.

 

 

 

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

One response »

  1. I may just have to try this! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

