RSS Feed

Tex-Mex Tomato Soup

 

tex mex soup

tex-mex tomato soup

 

Autumn is the time when most of your old friends come back to your house to visit. And by that I mean TV series. Who would have thought 20 years ago that TV can broadcast  interesting, intelligent shows. There was only Twin Peaks to save our faith. But then things changed. HBO takes the blame. Sopranos, Six Feet Under, The Wire, things started spicing up.

Sometimes I feel like I have to book time off  from work just to catch up. Don’t tell anyone, but that’s what I’m doing sometimes. How otherwise I would be able to go through 3 series of Games of Thrones in 2 weeks?

And what House of Cards did to me? I’ve never stayed up till 2 am and watched something for 8 hrs straight before…Bloody Netflix! ‘Next episode will start in 10 seconds’, in old days you had to wait a week, and I can’t say no to Kevin Spacey…

Even when things go wrong and I feel down, I never can be suicidal because there are too many films and series to watch, too many books to read…Homeland is back, and I know last series wasn’t as good as the first one, but I feel so attached to a girl who’s a bi-polar FBI agent, that I can’t resist a bit of têteàtête with her…and there is so many I can’t wait for: Hannibal, The Fall, Mad Men, and magnificent True Detective….

Yesterday I was woken up by  wind and heavy rain.  Ahh, how I love weather like this. It’s a perfect background to watching films and warming yourself with some spicy, comforting food.

That’s how one find themselves making tex-mex soup…

Tomato Tex-Mex Soup:

2 l vegetable stock or water and 2 organic vegetable stock cubes

1 bunch coriander

1 medium hot chili

2 cloves garlic

1 shallot or 1/2 red onion

2 cans of chopped tomatoes or 3 cups of fresh chopped tomatoes

salt and pepper

avocado

lime juice

corn tortillas (one per person)

vegetable or rice oil

1. Heat the vegetable stock or water with cubes and bunch of coriander stems tied together with a string (so it will be easier to take them out later).

2. In a second pot heat 2 tbsp oil, add chopped shallot or onion. Let it sweat for 3-5 min. Add chopped garlic and chopped, deseeded chili. Saute for another 3-5 min. Add tomatoes, salt and pepper and simmer for 20-30 min.

3. Carefully whizz the tomato mixture in a blender. Take the coriander stocks out of the vegetable stock, stir in blended tomatoes. Cook on low heat for another 10-15 min. Add chopped coriander leaves.

4. In the meantime, chop avocado and mix it with lime juice. Cut corn tortillas into 1cm ribbons. Heat 2tbsp oil in a frying pan, fry ribbons in small batches till they are crispy. (If you prefer them less oily, spread the ribbons on a baking sheet and bake in the oven for a few minutes. They will become crispy but not as delicious as the fried ones).

5. Pour the soup into a bowl, add avocado and tortilla ribbons, serve. Now, I love avocado, but you can replace it with black or red beans to give your soup a little substance, you can even top it up with corn if you like.

tex-mex tomato soup

 

tex-mex tomato soup

tex-mex tomato soup

 

About potatofaces

People who cook always go on about precious memories of childhood food one of their family members cooked, how daddy or nanny taught them the importance of cooking and eating together, and they still remember the comfort food they produced, amazing dishes whipped up by brilliant but humble cooks in their family. Well, let me tell you, it was totally different in my family. My mother’s family – totally useless as cooks, who could survive on bread and butter, cooked once a week a terrible, terrible meal, usually some kind of meat piece with lots of brown sauce. Also, they were never bothered about eating together. That’s maybe why most of them were depressed and suicidal. My mother followed that path and couldn’t really cook, and because I never wanted to eat meat, was warning me that ‘one day I will regret it’. Probably because my mother wasn’t into cooking my sister at the age of 12 took over and started producing amazing dinners and cakes. Well, luckily for me and her we weren’t that genetically doomed because apparently my father’s family were gifted in that compartment. I can only presume it was genes, as my father divorced my mother when my sis and me were little and he strongly believed that he also divorced us. So, we were growing up never having any contact with him and as a result, couldn’t learn how to cook from him. That’s why I believe the love of cooking ( and the ability) was just passed to us genetically. My father, short time before he died, unexpectedly felt an urge to contact us. First he gave my sister a mandolin (that’s another thing I know about him- he played a few instruments). My sister refused to talk to him, he then decided to contact me and wanted to spend some time with me. I didn’t want to, as he was a stranger to me (I was 11 or 12 at the time) but as I was promised I could leave whenever I wanted to, I went to the village he lived in. There I tried his mother’s cooking everyone was raving about. It was simple and amazing, I wish they were as family dedicated as they were at baking, cooking, making pastries, wine, tinctures, you name it. But I ate, drunk, and got bored of strangers who were my family and demanded to be let to go home. One of the last things my father said to me was that I should start learning English because I might need it one day, which I ignored for another 16 years… Because my sister was such a domestic goddess I wasn’t really bothered about cooking. I got hooked properly after my son was born and I wanted him to eat healthy and get everything he needed, especially that it wasn’t his choice to be a vegetarian (yet). And that is how the story begins…

4 responses »

  1. How great is it to binge-watch with Netflix! I’m currently watching a whole lot of Gilmore Girls, which I never could while it was on tv..those WB commercials were killer.

    Reply
    • oh my God, I can’t believe it. That’s so freaky… It’s my favourite tv series, great one-liners! I’ve got a dvd box and just started watching it again. xx

      Reply
      • ok can I tell u what else was freaky!? I was up to the episode in season one, when Max proposes to Lorilai with the yellow daisies. The day before I bought yellow daisies, and put them in vases all over the house! It was such a great wtf moment! 🙂

  2. That’s just brilliant! I love moments like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

